top of page
Can you play left-handed in an orchestra?
Three ladybug wooden figures holding up the capital letters Y E S - Yes, you can play left-handed in an orchestra.

Left-playing orchestra members did and do exist – even in professional symphony orchestras.

Since the old prejudice that left-handed orchestral playing is not possible primarily affects the string section, we will concentrate on them for now. 

1. prejudice: "Left-handed players need too much space."

Wrong. Left-handed players need just as much space as right-handed players. Only possibly on the other side. This can be taken into account when setting up, so that there are usually no problems when right- and left-hand players play together (even when sharing a music stand). 

For cellos, Walter Mengler 2010 states a space requirement "a few centimeters" higher because of the horizontal bowing. For violins, violas and double basses, this point does not apply due to the more vertical bow movement or the short bow. [1]

Our interviewed orchestra cellists confirm those "extra centimeters" and explain that an orchestra needs to first check how everyone is coping with the space in a narrow room or pit anyway – regardless of which hand they are bowing with.

 

Ludwig Quandt, (right-handed) principal cellist of the Berlin Philharmonic, explains in our interview: " Getting in the way of your fellow players with the bow happens anyway. I must have hit someone with the frog in the scroll at least a dozen times."

 

-> Whether in school orchestras, amateur orchestras or professional orchestras: Wherever left-hand playing is attempted, solutions are found.

2. prejudice: "It looks messy when not all bows move to the same direction and it confuses the colleagues."

Walter Mengler also got this right to the point: 

"An audience quickly gets used to the slightly different look, just as the enjoyment of a Strauss score is not marred by the fact that the violins are often split six ways and repeatedly bow against each other. Mahler's Adagietto from the 5th Symphony loses none of its emotion, either, as the cellists play two different parts on each stand, almost permanently bowing against each other to do so."

From the experience of left-handed orchestral musicians, whom we have interviewed on the subject, it also turns out that the audience reacts with curiosity and delight rather than rejection and irritation - if they notice the other direction of playing in the midst of a large orchestra at all.

The orchestra colleagues also quickly get used to it, as our interviews unanimously reveal. After all, the joint playing is more a question of energy than of absolute bowing direction: "An up bow just feels completely different from a down bow in terms of energy. So, when I play, I feel in harmony with all the string players, regardless of left or right," reports cellist Laila Kirchner, who plays both right- and left-handed.

 

And last but not least: Considering how it is supposed to disturb an allegedly homogeneous appearance, it takes an astonishingly long time to spot the left-handed playing person in orchestra photos or videos.

3. prejudice: "Orchestras don't take in lefties."  or: The hen and the egg

Many music instructors claim this as the reason why they do not let a student play left-handed, even if they realize the child would probably find it easier to do so. They do not want to spoil the student's potential future as a professional musician right from the start. 

In our opinion, this is a thinking error in several respects: 

  • Firstly, playing left-handed in any ensemble is not a problem (see above) and also occurs in professional orchestras (see below).

  • Secondly, the fact that left-handed orchestra members have only appeared in homeopathic doses so far is not due to the fact that applications by left-handed players are rejected by the orchestras straight away. Rather, the orchestras are hardly ever confronted with left-handed applications at the moment, precisely because so few children and young people learn to play their instrument left-handed – out of concern on the part of the teachers that they would not be allowed to play in an orchestra that way... We are going around in circles.

  • Thirdly, an overwhelming proportion of children who start music lessons will not think about making a career out of it later on anyway. And of the very small number who do, only a tiny fraction will actually try out for an orchestra position at some point. There are so many other possibilities to earn money with music.. And from the tiny part that comes to the audition, from the very small part that wants to make music professionally, not everyone gets an orchestra position anyway – even if they play right-handed.

 

It therefore makes absolutely no sense to depend the playing direction of a beginning child on (falsely) assumed "prerequisites" for an orchestral position.

Some left-handed people do not experience problems on the conventional right-handed instrument. They feel comfortable with it and sometimes even play professionally at a very high level. But for many others it is a handicap not to be able to produce and shape the sound with their strong, dominant hand. [2]

Many children already cannot cope with playing against their left-handedness: They don't progress, feel uncomfortable at the instrument and give up in frustration after a more or less short time. This can always have other reasons too, of course, but a bow in the "right" hand can work wonders... ;)

To sacrifice the music-making joy of these left-handed children (who often take the bow in their left hand on their own initiative) to a false prejudice is absolutely unnecessary.

 

We should move towards letting children make music according to their lateral disposition – for more joy in playing, musical success, health and well-being for all involved.

As a result, there will be more left-handed applications for orchestra positions in the future. But who actually says that they do not have the same chances as right-handed applicants?

 

Ludwig Quandt, principal cellist of the Berlin Philharmonic, is already certain: "Our orchestra hires according to quality only. If a left-handed player comes in, plays left-handed and sweeps all the others off the court, then he or she will come into the orchestra and a solution will be found. We have no statutes that exclude left-handed players."

List of left-handed playing musicians in professional orchestras

Formerly:​

  • Orchestra in Münster, later Krefeld and Marburg [3] (D): Richard Barth, violinist and concertmaster from around 1867

  • Radion Sinfoniaorkesteri (Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra):  Paavo Berglund, violinist (1st) from 1949 to 1958 [3]

  • Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra (US): Rivka Mandelkern, violinist (1st) from around 1954 to after 1980

  • Südfunk Symphony Orchestra (today: SWR Symphony Orchestra) (D): violist[?] around 1970

  • Orchestra Heidelberg (D): Jürgen Kussmaul, principal violist

  • Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne (D): Jürgen Kussmaul, principal violist

  • Municipal (today: Philharmonic) Orchestra Bremerhaven (D): Dieter Görnandt, solo violist

  • DR SymfoniOrkestret (Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra): Nils Sylvest, cellist from 1980 [4]

  • The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (UK): Margaret Artus, violist from 1984 to before 1998 [5]

  • Loh Orchestra Sondershausen (D): Hans-Ludwig Becker, solo cellist from 1991 to 1998

Today:​

  • Bad Reichenhall Philharmonic (Germany): Franz Slaboch, violinist (2nd) since 1985

  • Opera Ballet Vlaanderen (Belgium): Hans-Ludwig Becker, second solo cellist since 1998

  • Orquesta Sinfónica de Salta (Argentina): Gerardo Solórzano, violinist since about 2002

  • Les Siècles (France): Martial Gauthier, leader of the second violins since 2005

  • Niagara Symphony Orchestra (Canada): Filip Stasiak, double bass player

  • Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional (Mexico): Abner Jairo Ortiz García, cellist since 2019

[1] Walter Mengler: Musizieren mit links (= Making music with the left). Mainz 2010.

[2] This is explained in detail in the relevant literature (German) and described in numerous interviews and blog posts.

[3] according to Wikipedia

[4] Booklet DACOCD 860

[5] Many thanks to Richard Bratby for the details!

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

Orchestermusikerinnen
Anmerkungen
bottom of page

Kann man linkshändig im Orchester spielen?
Drei Marienkäfer-Holzfiguren, die die Großbuchstaben Y E S hochhalten. – Ja, man kann linkshändig im Orchester spielen.

Linksspielende Orchestermitglieder gab und gibt es einige – auch in professionellen Sinfonieorchestern.

Da das alte Vorurteil, linkshändiges Orchesterspiel sei nicht möglich, vor allem die Streichergruppe betrifft, konzentrieren wir uns hier zunächst auf diese. 

1. Vorurteil: „Linkshänder brauchen zu viel Platz.“

Falsch. Linksspielende brauchen genauso viel Platz wie Rechtsspielende. Nur evtl. auf die andere Seite. Das kann bei der Aufstellung berücksichtigt werden, sodass es auch beim Zusammenspiel von Rechts- und Linksstreichenden (sogar an einem Pult) in der Regel keine Probleme gibt. 

Für Celli gibt Walter Mengler 2010 wegen der waagerechten Bogenführung einen "um wenige Zentimeter" höheren Platzbedarf an. Bei Geigen, Bratschen und Kontrabässen trifft dieser Punkt durch die senkrechtere Streichbewegung bzw. den kurzen Bogen nicht zu. [1]

Die von uns interviewten Orchestercellisten bestätigen diese "Extrazentimeter" und erklären, dass ein Orchester im engen Raum oder Graben ohnehin zunächst schauen muss, wie alle mit dem Platz zurechtkommen – ganz unabhängig davon, mit welcher Hand sie streichen.

 

Ludwig Quandt, (rechtsstreichender) Solocellist der Berliner Philharmoniker, erzählt dazu in unserem Interview: "Dass man den Mitspielern mit dem Bogen in die Quere kommt, passiert ohnehin. Ich habe bestimmt dutzend Mal schon jemandem mit dem Frosch in die Schnecke reingehauen."

 

-> Ob im Musikschulorchester, Laienorchester oder Profiorchester: Wo Linksstreichen versucht wird, finden sich Lösungen.

2. Vorurteil: „Es sieht unordentlich aus, wenn nicht alle in die gleiche Richtung streichen und es verwirrt die anderen.“

Auch das hat Walter Mengler auf den Punkt gebracht: 

"An die leicht veränderte Optik gewöhnt sich ein Zuschauer schnell, genauso wie der Genuss einer Strauss'schen Partitur nicht dadurch getrübt wird, dass die Geigen häufig sechsfach geteilt sind und mehrfach gegeneinander streichen. Auch Mahlers Adagietto aus der 5. Sinfonie verliert nichts von seiner Emotion, weil die Cellisten an jedem Pult zwei verschiedene Stimmen spielen und dadurch fast permanent gegeneinander streichen." [1]

Aus der Praxis linksstreichender OrchestermusikerInnen, die wir zu dem Thema interviewt haben, ergibt sich ebenfalls, dass das Publikum – wenn es denn die andere Spielrichtung inmitten eines großen Orchester überhaupt wahrnimmt – eher neugierig und erfreut als ablehnend und irritiert reagiert.

Auch das Orchesterkollegium gewöhnt sich schnell daran, wie aus unseren Interviews übereinstimmend hervorgeht. Denn das gemeinsame Streichen sei mehr eine Frage der Energie als der absoluten Strichrichtung: "Der Aufstrich fühlt sich einfach energetisch ganz anders an als der Abstrich. Auf diese Weise fühle ich mich beim Spielen mit allen Streichern im Einklang, unabhängig von links oder rechts", berichtet die rechts- und linkshändig spielende Cellistin Laila Kirchner.

Und nicht zuletzt: Dafür, dass es eine angebliche homogene Optik stören soll, dauert es meist erstaunlich lange, im Gewusel eines Orchesterfotos oder -videos die linkshändig spielende Person auszumachen.

Beispiele folgen...

3. Vorurteil: "Orchester nehmen keine Linksspielenden auf." – oder: Die Henne und das Ei

Von vielen InstrumentalpädagogInnen wird genau das als Grund angegeben, warum sie ein Kind nicht mit links streichen lassen, auch wenn sie merken, dass sich das Kind damit wohl leichter täte: Sie wollen ihm eine potenzielle Berufsmusiker-Zukunft nicht schon am Anfang verbauen. 

 

Das ist unserer Auffassung nach ein Denkfehler in mehrerer Hinsicht: 

  • Erstens ist Linksstreichen im Orchester kein Problem (siehe oben) und kommt auch in Profiorchestern vor (siehe unten).

  • Zweitens liegt die Tatsache, dass es linksstreichende Orchestermitglieder bislang nur in homöopathischen Dosen gibt, ja nicht daran, dass entsprechende Bewerbungen von den Orchestern direkt abgelehnt würden. Vielmehr werden die Orchester derzeit kaum mit linksspielenden Bewerbungen konfrontiert, eben weil noch so wenige Kinder und Jugendliche ihr Instrument links herum erlernen – aus Sorge der Lehrenden, dass sie so nicht ins Orchester dürften... Wir drehen uns im Kreis.

  • Drittens kommt hinzu, dass ein überwältigender Teil der Kinder, die mit Instrumentalunterricht beginnen, ohnehin nicht mit dem Gedanken spielen wird, daraus später einen Beruf zu machen. Und von dem sehr kleinen Teil, der das doch tut, wird wiederum nur ein winziger Teil irgendwann tatsächlich mal ein Probespiel um eine Orchesterstelle anstreben. Denn es gibt noch so viele andere Möglichkeiten, mit Musik Geld zu verdienen... Und von dem winzigen Teil, der zum Probespiel kommt, aus dem sehr kleinen Teil, der überhaupt beruflich musizieren möchte, bekommen ohnehin nicht alle eine Orchesterstelle – auch wenn sie mit rechts streichen.


Es ist daher absolut nicht sinnvoll, die Spielrichtung eines Anfängerkindes von vermeintlichen "Voraussetzungen" für eine Orchesterstelle abhängig zu machen. 

Manche linkshändigen Menschen bemerkten keine Probleme am konventionellen Rechtshänder-Instrument. Sie fühlen sich wohl damit und spielen teilweise sogar beruflich und auf sehr hohem Niveau. Aber für viele andere ist es ein Handicap, den Klang nicht mit ihrer starken, dominanten Hand hervorbringen und gestalten zu können. [2]

Schon viele Kinder kommen nicht damit zurecht, entgegen ihrer Linkshändigkeit zu spielen: Es geht nicht voran, sie fühlen sich unwohl am Instrument und geben nach mehr oder weniger kurzer Zeit frustriert auf. Das kann immer auch andere Gründe haben, klar, aber so ein Bogen in der "richtigen" Hand kann schon auch Wunder wirken... 

Die Musizierfreude dieser linkshändigen Kinder (die oft von sich aus den Bogen immer wieder in die linke Hand nehmen) einem falschen Vorurteil zu opfern, ist absolut unnötig. 

 

Wir sollten dazu übergehen, Kinder gemäß ihrer lateralen Veranlagung musizieren zu lassen – für mehr Spielfreude, musikalische Erfolgserlebnisse, Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden bei allen Beteiligten.

Dadurch wird es in Zukunft vermehrt linksstreichende Bewerbungen auf Orchesterstellen geben. Aber wer sagt eigentlich, dass die nicht dieselben Chancen haben wie rechtsstreichende?

 

Ludwig Quandt, Solocellist der Berliner Philharmoniker, ist sich jedenfalls heute schon sicher: "Unser Orchester engagiert ausschließlich nach Qualität. Wenn ein Linkshänder kommt, spielt links und fegt alle anderen vom Platz, dann kommt der in das Orchester und es wird eine Lösung gefunden werden. Wir haben keine Statuten, die linkshändige Spieler ausschließen."

Realität: Professionelle Orchester mit linker Beteiligung (Ergänzungen erwünscht)

Früher:​

  • Orchester in Münster, später Krefeld und Marburg [3] (D): Richard Barth, Geiger bzw. Konzertmeister ab ca. 1867

  • Radion Sinfoniaorkesteri (Finnisches Radio-Sinfonieorchester):  Paavo Berglund, Geiger (1. Vl) von 1949 bis 1958 [3]

  • Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra (USA): Rivka Mandelkern, Geigerin (1. Vl) von ca. 1954 bis nach 1980

  • Südfunk-Sinfonieorchester (heute: SWR Sinfonieorchester) (D): Bratschist um 1970

  • Orchester Heidelberg (D): Jürgen Kussmaul, Solobratschist

  • Gürzenich-Orchester Köln (D): Jürgen Kussmaul, Solobratschist

  • Städtisches (heute: Philharmonisches) Orchester Bremerhaven (D): Dieter Görnandt, Solobratschist

  • DR SymfoniOrkestret (Dänisches Radio-Sinfonieorchester): Nils Sylvest, Cellist ab 1980 [4]

  • The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (UK): Margaret Artus, Bratschistin von 1984 bis vor 1998 [5]

  • Loh-Orchester Sondershausen (D): Hans-Ludwig Becker, Solocellist von 1991 bis 1998

Heute:​

  • Bad Reichenhaller Philharmoniker (Deutschland): Franz Slaboch, Geiger (2. Vl) seit 1985

  • Opera Ballet Vlaanderen (Belgien): Hans-Ludwig Becker, 2. Solocellist seit 1998

  • Orquesta Sinfónica de Salta (Argentinien): Gerardo Solórzano, Geiger seit ca. 2002

  • Les Siècles (Frankreich): Martial Gauthier, Stimmführer der zweiten Geigen seit 2005

  • Niagara Symphony Orchestra (Kanada): Filip Stasiak, Kontrabassist

  • Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional (Mexiko): Abner Jairo Ortiz García, Cellist seit 2019

[1] Walter Mengler: Musizieren mit links. Mainz 2010.

[2] Ausführlich wird das in der einschlägigen Literatur erklärt sowie in zahlreichen Interviews und Blogbeiträgen beschrieben.

[3] laut Wikipedia

[4] CD-Booklet DACOCD 860

[5] Vielen Dank an Richard Bratby für die Details!

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.